Podcasting for Humans
Podcasting for Humans
Why Strong Songs' Kirk Hamilton Sounds Like He's Smiling
0:00
-54:16

Why Strong Songs' Kirk Hamilton Sounds Like He's Smiling

HINT: It's because he is.

This week, I spoke to Kirk Hamilton, a co-host on Triple Click and the creator and host of Strong Songs. Strong Songs is a critically acclaimed music podcast that has been recommended by Lin-Manuel Miranda, and won the support of popular podcasters Merlin Mann and Leigh Sales.

I spoke to Kirk about how the decentralized nature of podcasting made Strong Songs possible, how his unique set of skills translate to podcasting, and how the simple fact of loving what he does translates into being a better podcaster:

“I hear from a lot of people that it sounds like I'm smiling when I talk. That's a very common thing that people will say, which is true. I am smiling a lot when I talk, especially when I'm making Strong Songs.

I think that what makes this show appealing, or what makes me appealing on the show is that I really love what I'm doing. Like, I really love talking about music. I love the music. Every song I talk about on Strong Songs is one of my favorite songs, and I'm not really picking songs according to what I think will be popular.

There have been times where I've gone a little bit more with a song that I feel like, “Okay I know people like this because it's whatever, a classic rock song,” and there are times where those episodes can feel like a little more work.

And still, I don't think it sounds like I'm not into it on the show. Because invariably, I'll find something to be excited about. That's just how I relate to music.

But mostly the show is just me being like: Okay, “Mr. Blue Sky,” this has been one of my favorite songs for 10 years for 20 years. I can just enthuse about it.

I think there's a sense of joy there that comes out in the show.

I sometimes wonder if the fact that I spent most of my 30s not really making music or teaching music made me appreciate it more. So when I came back to doing it, I feel this joy, this sense of relief at coming back to something that was such a core part of my life for 25 years or 30 years that then I kind of put on the back burner for seven or eight years while I was working in media.

And it's this feeling of relief and joy that I always feel when I’m playing music, or listening to music, or talking about music that I think comes across in the show.

So I think that is a really important part of the show's appeal. And I know from what I've heard from listeners that it's something they like about it.”

Click play above to hear the rest of the podcast.

0 Comments
Podcasting for Humans
Podcasting for Humans
Every week on Podcasting for Humans, Area Code Audio founder Richard Clark invites a guest on the show for an open, honest, and vulnerable conversation about the doubts, struggles, and problems that come with making a podcast.